Skip to Content

C.W. Smith


A Guide to the C.W. Smith Papers, 1989-1990

Collection 022
7 folders

Click here for complete inventory

Acquisition:  donated by C. W. Smith through Bill Wittliff from 1989 to 1990

Access:  Direct inquiries to the Archivist, Southwestern Writer's Collection, Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas 78666-4604

Processed by: Gwyneth Cannan, March 1995; Inventory revised by Brandy Harris, 2005

C. W. Smith was born in Corpus Christi, March 28, 1940.  Currently a professor of English at Southern Methodist University, Smith has been a reporter, critic, screenwriter and novelist.  He was a Dobie-Paisano Fellow from 1974 to 1975 and President of the Texas Institute of Letters from 1981 to 1983.  He has won the Texas Institute of Letters Jesse Jones Award for best novel in 1973 and the Stanley Walker Award for Journalism in 1985.  He has written for magazines and journals including the Dallas Times Herald, Esquire, and Mademoiselle.

The collection contains a copy of the screenplay for the 1975 novel Country Music, a copy of a typescript of the 1989 novel Buffalo Nickel, and an issue of the Poseidon Press Spring Selections 1989 containing an excerpt from Buffalo Nickel.  The material was donated through Bill Wittliff to whom Smith had submitted these copies for comments.